Deconstructing Alice

Years ago I had to make a collage in a community college art class. Which, at the time, sounded dull but once I got an Alice in Wonderland theme stuck in my head I couldn’t be stopped. I was pretty proud of it at the time and kept it out on display and then through the course of time and a few moves it wound up in storage forgotten about until recently. I’m surprised it survived at all. There’s a bit of damage here and there and quite a bit of warping but surprisingly entact. I can’t bring myself to junk it and so I’ve decided to deconstruct it and save and frame a piece here and there or recycle pieces of it into new projects. I’m still trying to decide how to go about this. For the time being, it’s leaning on a bookshelf in my office like a tired bitter drunk.  I’m open to ideas! 🙂

ALICE 1

ALICE 2

ALICE 5

ALICE 3

ALICE 4

ALICE 7

The bunny is one of the few things I didn't make. I found him in a scrapbooking store....and he's since gone blind.

The bunny is one of the few things I didn’t make. I found him in a scrapbooking store….and he’s since gone blind.

I gave Alice a functioning pocket. I'd find a lot of random things stuck in there.

I gave Alice a functioning pocket. I’d find a lot of random things stuck in there.

I glued some thin cloth-like paper to make her dress and cut up paper doilies to make her lacey  undergarment.

I glued some thin cloth-like paper to make her dress and cut up paper doilies to make her lacey undergarment.

 

Leave a Reply

