LA: The Great Big Irish Fair in Long Beach

I’m a bit behind on posting this but I figure I’ve got an easy going blog and there are no real rules. Time is not the boss of me!

Aaanyways, over Father’s Day weekend we took my Dad to The Big Irish Fair in Long Beach. It was a lot of fun. The weather was great. I can really only think of two downsides. One was upon entering. A company had set up a booth before the entrance trying to get people to sign up for essentially a pyramid scheme., which we bypassed as quickly as we could. After checking in and getting our “drinking” or “non-drinking” bracelets there were tons of booths ranging from merchandise imported straight from Ireland, to jewelry and crafts, and even a booth in which you could look up your Irish heritage.  There were still some occasional booths set up that were trying to “give-away” vacations and a group of people soliciting for a charity.  Some of those people were VERY pushy.

The only other thing that was a bit of a “womp-womp” was the food. The only “Irish” food they had was a corned beef sandwhich, fish n’ chips, and a shepherds pie. I was told the corned beef sandwhich was bland, the fish n chips “meh”, and I had the Shepherds Pie which was decent. Most of everything else I saw consisted of things like hamburgers, popcorn, and snow cones. It was a bit disappointing when you consider what a great opportunity it was for them to be able to showcase some great food. Especially with all the food truck culture we have.

They had pricey drinks but like most events such as this it was exactly what I was expecting so no real complaints there. They had Guinness, Kilkenny, Smithwicks, and a few other basic beers and at one point I saw a booth selling whiskey but unless i’m crazy it disappeared pretty quickly.  Ha!

Everything else was fantastic. They had multiple pavilions set up with different musical bands playing everything from traditional Irish music to more contemporary punk influenced Irish bands such as Young Dubliners, The Fenians, Anita and The Mansfield Band, and Golden Bough. They also had stages set up for young traditional Irish dancers, all of whom were adorable and very talented (altho’ a  couple were on the border of Toddler & Tiaras-ish).

I have never seen so many Irish Wolfhounds……actually, I had never seen one in real life before. Even they had a booth! (a Kissing booth *_* ).  My absolute FAVORITE part was the sheep herding!! They demonstrated it right out in the open and at one point the sheep and sheep-dog were so close I’m convinced the sheep-dog was trying to herd me along too for a moment.  Lots of petting ensued.

Well, I’ve type-talked enough about it. I’ll let the pictures explain the rest.

Lots of interesting art. This was my favorite. Hehe

Lots of interesting art. This was my favorite. Hehe

IRISH 6

IRISH 1

IRISH 2

IRISH 3

IRISH 4

IRISH 5

IRISH 10

IRISH 7

IRISH 8

IRISH 9

IRISH 11

IRISH 12

IRISH 14

IRISH 15

My Mom told my Dad to go pose with the sheep...he's pointing at sheep poop.

My Mom told my Dad to go pose with the sheep…he’s pointing at sheep poop.

My foot shows you how close we were to the sheep herding....in fact this dog tried to herd me for a moment before deciding I wasn't a good sheep.

My foot shows you how close we were to the sheep herding….in fact this dog tried to herd me for a moment before deciding I wasn’t a good sheep.

IRISH 22

IRISH 17

IRISH 19

IRISH 20

IRISH 21

IRISH 27

My Dad, dancing in his seat to the Irish music.

My Dad, dancing in his seat to the Irish music.

IRISH 31

IRISH 32

This cute one was on the elderly side and her hearing and vision wasn't great...and as a result while she was herding she took the sheep way off to the parking lot and the owners had to run chasing after them. We gave her some extra lovin'.  :3

This cute one was on the elderly side and her hearing and vision wasn’t great…and as a result while she was herding she took the sheep way off to the parking lot and the owners had to run chasing after them. We gave her some extra lovin’. :3

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

