Beer: Creme Brulee

This picture was taken and this beer was had when the LA Kings beat the Chicago Blackhawks. I am a Kings fan and with that said, the Blackhawks are a very classy and intelligently built team and are the one team I wouldn’t mind losing to had that gone the other way.  Iiiiintensity!!! Once the Kings won our friend pulled a special beer out and said, “Such a sweet victory deserves a sweet beer.” (This same friend and his lovely lady wife had just returned from a trip to Boston and this was one of the lil treasures they brought back with them.)

COMMENTATOR: How do you Kings play so well in the face of adversity? MARTINEZ:....mm...crème brûlèe

COMMENTATOR: How do you Kings play so well in the face of adversity?
MARTINEZ:….mm…crème brûlèe

 

My sweet tooth is almost non existent. I consider a jar of olives dessert.  Maybe a few times a year if i’m really pmsy i’ll have ice cream or something cinnamon based or spiced otherwise I may take a small bite of Seth’s desserts just to have an idea of what they taste like.  So, I may have slightly scrunched my face a bit when I heard the word sweet.  My scrunchy face was premature.

Sweet or not I was going to have some of this beer since Southern Tier doesn’t have distribution on the West coast and the only way to get some is to buy, ship, or trade with someone online or have a loved one bring it to you as a souvenir. ( http://www.beeradvocate.com is a great way to find hard to get beers)

Long story short, it’s very dark,  has 9.6% ABV,  has a strong complex smell that wafts warm creamy vanilla, caramel, and cinnamon flavors with hints of a boozy coffee into your face….AND I wanted smoosh my face into the beer because it smelled that good.  Which I couldn’t believe.

I like Milk Stouts just fine (this is an Imperial Milk Stout) but I don’t tend to seek them out on my own because for my goofy palate I feel that the taste doesn’t typically live up to the aroma but this was perfect for me.  It still has a sweetness but you taste more of a nice roasty flavor all while still being able to smell that “brulee” smell so they really balance and complement eachother. So many fun things this beer can be paired with!

Leave a Reply

