“Fancy Lady” Portraits

I was considering doing my own kind of “throwback thursdays” and to use that time to post some of my older artwork. Then I realized i’m not even really a fan of the “throwback thursday” thing (all those hashtags on facebook hurt my eyeballs) and I also realized Thursday is not the boss of me so I’m just going to randomly post these now. Enjoy!

Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe

Clara Bow

Clara Bow

Louise Brooks

Louise Brooks

Jean Harlow

Jean Harlow

Mary Pickford

Mary Pickford

Edie Sedgwick

Edie Sedgwick

Lana Turner

Lana Turner

Elizabeth Taylor

Elizabeth Taylor

4 thoughts on ““Fancy Lady” Portraits

    • Thank you so much! I must have done something very right trying to capture her because unanimously everyone I know personally that has seen these each say the Clara Bow is their favorite too.

      Before doing these portraits i’d read up on any biographies and/or autobiographies I could get my hands on and the same went for viewing their films. I’m flattered and humbled beyond words that I could do any of these fancy Ladies justice and also earn the approval of fellow fans and appreciators of theirs.

      Thank you again!

  1. Well, I think you succeeded in capturing an expression in Clara that’s both soulful and sultry. Plus the red against blue colour scheme is very effective, I think. Plus I really like how you echo the starry background in the “dissolve” of her dress/shawl. The overall effect is… alluring 🙂

Leave a Reply

